Thunderpussy – Thunderpussy

Artist: Thunderpussy

Song: Thunderpussy

Based: Seattle

Stands out: Everything

If you like: Pearl Jam

Introducing:   T H U N D E R P U S S Y 

“Thunderpussy” is the title track off Seattle all female fourpiece, Thunderpussy’s upcoming self-titled debut album, which is set for release on May 25 via Stardog Records/Republic Records. It follows their latest EP, Greatest Tits, released earlier this year, which features their hit tracks “ Speed Queen ” and “ Torpedo Love .”

Of the song, the band says “Every band should have a theme song, especially if your band is called ‘Thunderpussy.’ We knew from the moment the band got together that this was our big chance to do what we had always wanted since the first time we heard “Bad Company” by Bad Company: write a self-titled track. The lyrics are playful and tongue-in-cheek, with slashing guitars and crunching bass, building to a dramatic crescendo. You can hear an actual smashing explosion at the climax—that’s a television meeting pavement at high velocity. ‘Coming for ya…On the prowl…RAWR! Thunderpussy!!!”

Thunderpussy is made up of Molly Sides [vocals], Whitney Petty [guitar], Leah Julius [bass] and Ruby Dunphy [drums]. The band turned into a quiet phenomenon with the endorsement of Rolling Stone and Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready, as well as a string of already-legendary performances under their belts over the past year.